43% of Americans believe God helps Tebow win

43% of Americans believe that God helps Tim Tebow to win. Now, to be quite honest with you, I don’t follow football at all so I won’t comment on the game itself.  And I really don’t have much to add to the original article either, but you can read it in full over at foxpsortsflorida.com.

“According to a telephone survey conducted Tuesday by the website Poll Position, 43.3 percent of people believe Tebow’s accomplishments on the field can be attributed to divine intervention.”

I’m simply going to open up the forum for discussion by just mentioning that the Lord does indeed appear to work in mysterious ways…

I think that image pretty much sums up my feelings on the issue too. And yet, a full 43% of the voting American public actually believes that God helps Tim Tebow to win games.

Perhaps one or two of them would like to explain to me how God can justify rigging a football game, while children starve to death on the other side of the world. I’d truly love to understand.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 43% of Americans believe God helps Tebow win

  1. Mandolin says:

    I agree to a point. No I don’t think God helps Tebow win ball games. I believe he has a talent that he was blessed with, but he had to work to perfect the talent. I think Tebow is a great man for showing his faith in God even though it means he will be ridiculed.I just hope he is doing something with his faith besides just winning football games.

    BUT I fully and truly believe that God cares about starving children and war torn countries. Unfortunately we live in a broken and dying world…we cannot just pray for God to feed the hungry and clothe the naked and heal the sick and then expect it too happen by magic. God is not magic. WE have to go where we feel called. The Bible says in James 2:16 “If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, ‘Go in peace, be warmed and filled,’ without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that?”

    It is the job of the Christian to feed this child! It is my job to see the hungry in my own backyard and provide food. It is my job to provide funds to Missionaries to go to that child’s country and give him food. Its my job to make sure that I am allowing God to do His work through me to the people he has called me to.

    I have seen my God clothe poor children in Rwanda. I have seen my god bring food and shelter to war/disaster victims. MY GOD IS HUGE!!! But most of America does not worship the same God I worship. Most of America worships a fabricated version of my God who caters to their wants and needs. Most of America needs to wake up and realize we have it too good!

  2. nathan says:

    mandolin,

    you say your god has helped rwandans with clothes…how about he lift his almighty finger and turn some of that sand into rice so they can eat! i know i know…its not His will to do so, better to let them suffer to teach some sort of lesson about patience or virtues or something.

    thanks for posting though, hope we can discuss these things further, lots more to come we are just getting started!

  3. Mandolin says:

    That’s not it at all! As I said he’s not magic. He doesn’t perform. He sends his people. The reason those children in Rwanda got new clothes is because a group of Christians got out of their comfort zone, raised money and visited Rwanda for a few weeks. While there they saw a need for clothes and bought some. I’ve known others who have gone overseas and brought food and clean water! What I’m trying to say is it’s the Christians job.

    Trust me I’m just as disgusted about the Tebow thing as you are! I would gladly give up everything I have to go fees that child in the picture…and someday my husband and I plan to do that. Sell everything take the cash and set up camp with the poorest of poor in Rwanda! Until then I continue to pray for God to send someone and give money to those who currently are in other countries feeding those who need it. I know it’s hard to see the rational, but I honestly with all my being believe in a God who truly cares for the starving children and will send people to aid them.

  4. Ezekiel says:

    So what you’re saying is that not all people are created equally? That he created certain people who were pre-ordained for a life of misery and suffering, just so that Christians had an opportuity to do good works to feel better about themselves?

    That doesn’t sound like a God who “truly cares for the starving children”. I mean, what is the Divine Purpose in making some of your children suffer, if you have the power to create worlds, breathe life into all all things and grant eternal life? Given powers such as those, I would think it would be rather trivial for God himself to remove suffering from the Earth – should he wish to.

  5. Curious says:

    One of the Easter readings this weekend was about Moses parting the sea so the Israelites can get across and escape the Egyptians (Ephesians 14). The water rushed back upon the Egyptians and Pharoah’s army was killed. Killed. Why? Because the Israelites were the chosen people and God was helping them escape. God loves ALL his children? Equally? Guess that doesn’t include Egyptians.
    My point is that it is no wonder that 43% of Christians think God helps Tebow win when you take a look at this story, which shows that the Old Testament God (same as the New Testament one?) did not love all equally. If Tebow is chosen, then based on a parable such as this widely known and told one, God would help him before others. I’m curious if anyone has a defense to this other than not all stories are to be taken literally.

Leave a Reply

